Pineapple Cake


pineapple cake

Happy Mother’s Day !!!

Today I want to dedicate my post to two special persons in my life. One is my Amma. She is an awesome cook and a wonderful lady. Whatever I am today, I should thank my Mom. She is the backbone of our family. She is my hero and will always be. She is the inspiration for everything I cook and whatever heights I fly , she is my wings.

The second person I wanted to dedicate this post is to my friend Gayathri. I know her for just 3 years but she occupies an important place in my life. Whenever I feel low, she was always there to lift me up and I know she will always be there for me. She is the inspiration for my baking. She bakes well and she is the one who introduced me the world of baking. Today is her birthday. Wishing you a very happy birthday Gayathri..

pineapplecake

Ingredients:

  • All purpose flour – 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons
  • Baking powder – 1 teaspoon
  • Eggs – 3
  • Egg yolks – 3
  • Granulated sugar – 3/4 cup
  • Vanilla extract – 1 teaspoon
  • Salt – 1/4 teaspoon
  • Whole milk – 1/4 cup
  • Butter – 2 tablespoons
  • Pineapple chunks in syrup – 1 tin
  • Heavy whipping cream – 2 cups
  • Powdered sugar – 1 cup
  • Pineapple essence – 2 tsp

Method :

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease a 9 inch round pan and keep it ready.

2. In a bowl, sieve together the all purpose flour, baking powder and table salt. Mix it well and keep it side.

step2

3. In a sauce pan, heat the milk and butter together. Let it be heated in a low flame till it is hot but not boiling.

step4

4. In a large mixing bowl, take the eggs, egg yolks, sugar and vanilla extract and beat them in high speed .

step5

5. Beat it till a point when you raise the stopped beater gives a ribbon that dissolves slowly.

step6

I used my handheld electric mixture and it took me almost 6 minutes to reach this consistency. The egg mixture turns pale in color and is doubled in the volume.

5.At this stage, add the mixed flour mixture in small batches and fold it gently without disturbing the volume of the egg mixture.

step7

6.Once all the flour mixture is added and incorporated with the egg mixture, now add in the hot milk+butter mixture and using a wooden spoon or spatula, fold it gently until everything is mixed thoroughly.

step8

7.Now scrap this mixture into the greased pan and let it bake for 20 to 23 minutes.

step9

8.After 20 minutes check if the tooth pick inserted in the center comes out clean. To me it took 22 minutes but the baking time varies with the oven.

step10

9.Let it cool completely. Better if it is left to cool overnight. Once it is cooled completely, using a sharp knife, gently cut the cake into two layers. Also separate the pineapple chunks and the syrup.

step11

10. Now using the pastry brush, gently sprinkle the syrup on the base layer of the cake.

step12

If you are using fresh pineapples, for making the syrup, finely chop the pineapples , say 1/2 cup. Boil 1 cup water and add the pineapple chunks and let it boil for 5 minutes. Then add 1/4 cup sugar and let it boil till the sugar dissolves.Switch off the stove and let it cool and strain the syrup and use it.

11. Meanwhile, In a mixing bowl,add heavy whipping cream ,powdered sugar and pineapple essence and beat it till stiff peaks are formed.

step13

12.In the base layer of cake, spread a little cream evenly.

step14

13. Spread the finely chopped pineapple chunks.

step15

14. Now place the other layer of the cake, sprinkle the pineapple syrup and cover it with the whipped cream.

step16 step17

Decorate the cake as you like it and let it sit in the fridge overnight. Letting it sit for few hours before serving helps the cake absorb the flavor of pineapple well.

pineapple cake

cake slice

Tagged: , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Pineapple Cake

  1. Sadia Mohamed May 10, 2015 at 3:07 am Reply

    Happy Mother’s Day…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aruna Panangipally May 10, 2015 at 6:30 am Reply

    Happy Mother’s Day! The cake looks perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. srividhya May 10, 2015 at 8:13 am Reply

    Great way to celebrate mothers day. Happy mothers day

    Liked by 1 person

  4. anitha May 10, 2015 at 9:22 am Reply

    Ezhil looking so yummy :-)Happy Mothers day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Malar May 11, 2015 at 4:38 pm Reply

    Happy Mother’s day and a very happy birthday to you friend Gayathri!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. coconutcraze May 12, 2015 at 7:33 am Reply

    I love the taste of pineapple and this cake is yum! Your cake decoration is lovely and can I have a piece of it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

